Fifty Debut Albums – the full list

Due to the fact that I shouldn’t be writing anyway because I’m supposed to be on a summer break, I’m now publishing my full list of fifty debut albums. As regular readers will know I’m up to number 30, but due to a cock up on the counting front the list I was working from only had 40 LPs on it. So I’ve bumped it up with LPs I’ve already written about here at Goldfish or will write about eventually, one way or another.

So here’s the full list.

The graveyard and the ballroom – A Certain Ratio
Come from heaven – Alpha
69 – AR Kane
Hex – Bark Psychosis
Please Please Me – The Beatles
If wishes were horses – Blueboy
A walk across the rooftops – Blue Nile
One year – Colin Blunstone
Colourbox – Colourbox
Kontiki – Cotton Mather
Lo and behold – Coulson Dean McGuinness Flint
If I could only remember my name – David Crosby
The fantastic expedition of Dillard and Clark
Lost souls – Doves
The return of – The Durutti Column
Crocodiles – Echo and the Bunnymen
Crumbling the antiseptic beauty – Felt
Fleet foxes – Fleet Foxes
76;14 – Global Communication
Story – Honeybus
Euphoria – Insides
Oxygene – Jean Michel Jarre
The Only Fun In Town – Josef K
Tangerine dream – Kaleidoscope
The gentle art of conditioning – Lower
Shot forth self living – Medicine
XYZ – Moose
Begin – The Millennium
All we could do was sing – Port O’Brien
No less the trees than the stars – Purple Ivy Shadows
Radar Bros – Radar Bros
The Bridge – Robert Rental and Thomas Leer
Present tense – Sagittarius
Quique – Seefeel
Judee Sill – Judee Sill
Paul Simon – Paul Simon
Spoonfed Hybrid – Spoonfed Hybrid
Switched on / Peng! – Stereolab
Jaguar – The Sweetest Ache
Blondertongueaudiobaton – The Swirlies
It’ll end in tears – This Mortal Coil
Ticket to the dark – Troy Tate
Her Handwriting – Trembling Blue Stars
Mudflat Joey – Tse Tse Fly
Fourteen autumns and fifteen winters – The Twilight Sad
United States Of America – United States of America
Ultra Vivid Scene – Ultra Vivid Scene
Neil Young – Neil Young
Colossal youth – Young Marble Giants

Like I said, alphabetical order by artist. If anyone really wants me to finish this project then I will. But at the moment I’m a bit exhausted in writing and annoyed at criticism and fed up with the whole process. So if you see an album on the list and think “I’d like to see what Rob has to say about that” then please let me know on here or on Twitter (@durutti74).

Thanks for listening and reading and being supportive. I’m off on holiday now. See you in September.

4 thoughts on “Fifty Debut Albums – the full list

  1. Ten More:

    Boards of Canada: Music has the Right to Children
    Tortoise: Millions Now Living Will Never Die
    Gang of Four: Entertainment!
    Pere Ubu: The Modern Dance
    Neu!: Neu!
    Mothers of Invention: Freak Out!
    Velvet Underground: The Velvet Underground and Nico
    Ramones: Ramones
    Talking Heads: Talking Heads ’77
    U2: Boy

    1. Nice list, agree on just about all of them – we could argue a fifty forever – but “Millions…” wasn’t Tortoise’s debut. Pedant that I am… I need to listen to Tortoise again, you know.

Leave a Reply

